UK warns its citizens against traveling to 21 states in Nigeria

The United Kingdom’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office has warned its citizens against traveling to about 21 states in Nigeria because of the worsening insecurity caused by Boko Haram terrorists in the North-East, militancy in the South-South and armed banditry in the North-East.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office emblem

The FCO had advised that these states-Bauchi, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kogi, Katsina and within 20km of the border with Niger in Sokoto and Kebbi states, including non-riverine areas of Delta, Rivers, Bayelsa and Abia states should only be for essential travel with a high level of security.

It also cautioned its citizens to avoid crowded places as attacks could be indiscriminate and could affect western interests as well as places visited by tourists.

Filed under: